jump to navigation

Psalm 139:1-18, Illuminations For My New Year January 16, 2015

Posted by Ventura Dreamer in Blogroll.
trackback

image(I started this on the 14th but am still getting myself set-up with syncing my phone and Kindle. Also getting into the routine of work while Sam is here to begin recuperating and Diesel is part of my mornings.)

imageHow appropriate that this should be today’s scripture reading. Today is my birthday; the completion of my 63rd orbit around the sun, the first day of my 64th year on Planet Earth.

You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is so high that I cannot attain it.

imageGod protects and provides for each of us. And in spite of knowing all about each one of us, in spite of all our faults and bad thoughts and actions, in spite of our inaction when we should be helping or speaking up, our Creator wants a closer relationship! God has a vision for the best we could be if we would join that vision and keep working at it!

What a joy knowing we are each “fearfully and wonderfully made”, where fearfully is derived from a Hebrew verbal root which means to “evoke awe and reverence”.* I must remember, again and again, to live with the assurance that I can always rely on God’s all-knowing and caring nature. Never doubt that goodness will eventually win out, that doing our best is always the best path!
image

image

* J. Dana Trent, The Upper Room Disciplines 2015, January 15 meditation.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment